pondělí 8. srpna 2016

2016 Songbook Academy Finals

"Another Op'ning, Another Show" could be easily a nickname for 2016 Songbook Academy Finals. Like every year, we can see and hear many talented young people who seem to have it ALL. Here is a brief info about this year´s Songbook Academy finals and all winners...

Sam Mulligan, Brighton Thomas, Matt Hoffman
All forty finalists performed in Songbook Academy Finals. They opened the show with "Starting Big", a medley of Maltby & Shire's "Starting Here, Starting Now" and Steve Allen's "This Could Be the Start of Something". To close the first act, the finalists were joined by program founder and emcee Michael Feinstein for a rousing rendition of Harold Arlen and Johnny Mercer's "Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive". The final number of the show was André Previn and Dory Previn's "You're Gonna Hear From Me". Jerry DePuit accompanied the choir's performances and directed the Songbook Band.
Prior to the presentation of awards, 2015 Songbook Academy winner Lucas DeBard gave his farewell performance as Songbook Youth Ambassador, singing Meredith Willson's "Till There Was You" and Fred Ahlert and Joe Young's "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter".

Lucas DeBard - "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter"

I interviewed Lucas last year - our interview is available on the link below:

At the end of the night, a number of finalists were presented with awards.
Joie Bianco - Most Promising Young Artist Award
Elizabeth Ross - Songbook Mentors' Award
Casey McCreary - Most Improved Performance Award
Caleb Freeman - Songbook Spirit Award
Matt Hoffman - Songbook Celebration Award
Sam Mulligan - Songbook Inspiration Award

Brighton Thomas, a senior at John Burroughs High School in Burbank, CA was named the 2016 Songbook Youth Ambassador. She performed Isham Jones' "It Had to Be You" and Milton Ager and Jack Yellen's "Happy Days Are Here Again". Brighton's musical director was Daryl Kojak, and her coach for the week was Lynne Rothrock.

Brighton Thomas - "It Had to Be You"

Matt Hoffman and Sam Mulligan will receive the opportunity to perform with Michael Feinstein at one of his events throughout the country. In addition to performance opportunities, Brighton Thomas will represent the Great American Songbook Foundation for one year.

Musical directors for the 2016 Songbook Academy were Tex Arnold, Jerry DePuit, Daryl Kojak, and Beckie Menzie. Kathleen Hacker, Elaine Moebius, Lynne Rothrock, and Catherine Walker served as vocal coaches.
Mentors and presenters for the 2016 Songbook Academy included:
Janis Siegel, The Manhattan Transfer
Catherine Walker, University of Michigan
Rebecca Risser, The Voice Clinic of Indiana
Sylvia McNair, Indiana University
Marc Cherry, television writer and producer (Desperate Housewives, Devious Maids)
Micki Stirsman and Luis Alvarez, Salon 01/Aquage
Ellen Kingston, the Center for the Performing Arts
Fran Morris Rosman, Executive Director of the Ella Fitzgerald Charitable Foundation

Joie Bianco, Elizabeth Ross, Sam Mulligan, Brighton Thomas, Matt Hoffman, Casey McCreary, Caleb Freeman



Five-time GRAMMY nominee Michael Feinstein founded the Great American Songbook Foundation in 2007 with a mission to inspire and educate by celebrating the Great American Songbook. The Center for the Performing Arts in Carmel, Indiana is the home of the Songbook Foundation. Tania Castroverde Moskalenko serves as the President/CEO of the organization. The work of the Foundation includes:
The Songbook Academy®
Library, Archives, and Gallery Exhibits
Great American Songbook Hall of Fame
Educational and outreach programs
PERFECT Harmony, music therapy based program for individuals with Alzheimer’s disease or dementia

To learn more about the Songbook Foundation and its programs, please visit TheSongbook.org

Žádné komentáře: